Keep on revising!!!

SPORTS AND HEALTH

READING

1. Read the texts A-C and decide if the following statements are True or False.

Text A ) Hoolahooping
Sarah is 15 years old now but she has practiced hoolahooping everyday since she was a young child. Hoolahooping basically involves swirling a plastic ring around your waist, hips and neck. It was a sport meant only for kids some years ago, but now is being used by people of all ages in gyms around the world to keep themselves fit and healthy. Even Sarah’s mother practises it to help her lose weight!

Text B ) Kick Boxing
John loves kick boxing, a mix between boxing and martial arts. John knows quite a few people who do this sport to work off their aggression, and it can be dangerous, but he doesn’t do it for that reason. He started kick boxing when he finished school to maintain flexibility and meet new friends in the gym!. You have to join an official club to practise this sport safely and there are lots of rules.

Text C ) Tower Running
Peter likes reading about Tower Running although he’s never taken part in a competition. Tower Running means running up flights of stairs in skyscrapers. There are a few Tower Running competitions held all over the world. It’s not a sport for everyone. You must be strong enough as it puts a lot of strain on the heart, the knees and other joints. These people are really fit. It’s like running a marathon, but vertically!

1 Sarah has been hoolahooping for several years

2 Hoolahooping is only for young people

3 John started kick boxing at a club when he was at school

4 Kick boxing is a dangerous sport

5 Tower running is an indoor sport

6 Tower Running is only popular in the USA

VOCABULARY

2. Complete this word search using words from the A-C texts. Then try to give a definition of each word.

A C U B F M O L R T K S W I R L
F L A M B V X E W E I G H T A R
L M L R V O A U I S T H C E N K
E G X T O N R H S H F A D Z P M
X A P I S Y K T R E A R Y U I B
I E E S T R N S O A K D Q L F W
B T T B A L E L U R G F W Z S H
I H C O M P E T I T I O N M Q I
L F O X S E S W T A S N P Q T M
I R M I M A O N Y W E E T A Y R
T P N N S T W R H R O O N G Y S
Y U B G J H B A G Y W O Q X J T
E W I J H E G C I S U L E M Z O
S W S G T E T I L S I K S B Y U
Y S W H R L D O K T T W O V H A
C C L U B Y P N J U P B P Y P E

SPEAKING

3. Prepare a three-minute presentation for your partner to answer the following questions:
• Do you -or any of your friends or relatives- practise any strange sports? Tell your partners about it.
• What equipment do you need to do it?
• Does it involve any special physical requirement? Can everybody practise it?
• Is there any official championship on such a sport? How often? Where?

WRITING

4. You are interested in practising kickboxing but your parents are very sceptical about it. You have emailed Simon, a friend in Scotland who already practises it, asking for information and advice to convince your parents. Imagine and write his response.
(80-120 words)

Advice:
1. Be very careful to use the correct present/past tense to describe his experience.
2. Highlight those benefits that may be more attractive for your parents.

GRAMMAR

5. Look at the pictures and say what the people have done.
Use these verbs: break, build, catch, see, win
Use these objects: a film, a fish, a house, his leg, the gold medal

She’s won the gold medal.

1 2. 3. 4.

1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

6. James is talking about his life. Put the correct past participles in the gaps.

I’ve (……………_) (see) a lot of beautiful places in my life, and I’ve (1) …………… (do) a lot of interesting things. I’ve (2) …………… (travel) in North and South America, for example. I’ve (3) …………… (visit) all the big American cities.
I’ve (4) …………… (drive) across Mexico. I haven’t (5) …………… (be) to Argentina, but I’ve (6) …………… (work) in Peru and Bolivia. I’ve (7) …………… (swim) in the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, and the Mediterranean Sea. I’ve (8) …………… (eat) in the best restaurants in Paris, and I’ve (9) …………… (sing) Italian songs in Rome. I haven’t
(10) …………… (make) much money in my life, but I’ve (11) …………… (meet) a lot of interesting people and I’ve (12) …………… (take) a lot of wonderful photographs!
ANSWER KEY

READING
1.
1. Sarah has been hoolahooping for several years
True “everyday since she was a child”
2. Hoolahooping is only for young people
False “people of all ages”
3. John started kick boxing at a club when he was at school
False “ when he finished school”
4. Kick boxing is a dangerous sport
False “it can be dangerous”
5. Tower running is an indoor sport
True ”flights of stairs in skyscrapers”
6. Tower Running is only popular in the USA
False “competitions all over the world”

VOCABULARY
2.
A C U B F M O L R T K S W I R L
F L A M B V X E W E I G H T A R
L M L R V O A U I S T H C E N K
E G X T O N R H S H F A D Z P M
X A P I S Y K T R E A R Y U I B
I E E S T R N S O A K D Q L F W
B T T B A L E L U R G F W Z S H
I H C O M P E T I T I O N M Q I
L F O X S E S W T A S N P Q T M
I R M I M A O N Y W E E T A Y R
T P N N S T W R H R O O N G Y S
Y U B G J H B A G Y W O Q X J T
E W I J H E G C I S U L E M Z O
S W S G T E T I L S I K S B Y U
Y S W H R L D O K T T W O V H A
C C L U B Y P N J U P B P Y P E
Suggested answer.
Competition: An event in which people compete with each other to find out who is the best at something
Swirl: Move around quickly in a circle
Knee: The joint between the top and bottom parts of the leg where it bends in the middle
Gym: A room or hall with equipment for doing physical exercise, for example in a school
Boxing: A sport in which two people fight each other with their hands, while wearing very large thick gloves
Waist: The area around the middle of the body between the ribs and the hips, often narrower than the areas above and below
Heart: The organ in the chest that sends blood around the body, usually on the left in humans
Club: A group of people who meet together regularly, for a particular activity, sport, etc
Flexibility: Ability to change to suit new conditions or situations
Weight: How heavy somebody or something is, which can be measured in kilograms or pounds

SPEAKING
3.
Students’ own answers.

WRITING
4.
Students’ own answers.

GRAMMAR
5.
1 He’s/He has broken his leg.
2 They’ve/They have built a house.
3 They’ve/They have seen a film.
4 She’s/She has caught a fish.

6.
1 done 5 been 9 sung
2 travelled 6 worked 10 made
3 visited 7 swum 11 met
4 driven 8 eaten 12 taken

SPORTS AND HEALTH

READING

1. Read the texts A-C and decide if the following statements are True or False.

Text A ) Hoolahooping
Sarah is 15 years old now but she has practiced hoolahooping everyday since she was a young child. Hoolahooping basically involves swirling a plastic ring around your waist, hips and neck. It was a sport meant only for kids some years ago, but now is being used by people of all ages in gyms around the world to keep themselves fit and healthy. Even Sarah’s mother practises it to help her lose weight!

Text B ) Kick Boxing
John loves kick boxing, a mix between boxing and martial arts. John knows quite a few people who do this sport to work off their aggression, and it can be dangerous, but he doesn’t do it for that reason. He started kick boxing when he finished school to maintain flexibility and meet new friends in the gym!. You have to join an official club to practise this sport safely and there are lots of rules.

Text C ) Tower Running
Peter likes reading about Tower Running although he’s never taken part in a competition. Tower Running means running up flights of stairs in skyscrapers. There are a few Tower Running competitions held all over the world. It’s not a sport for everyone. You must be strong enough as it puts a lot of strain on the heart, the knees and other joints. These people are really fit. It’s like running a marathon, but vertically!

1 Sarah has been hoolahooping for several years

2 Hoolahooping is only for young people

3 John started kick boxing at a club when he was at school

4 Kick boxing is a dangerous sport

5 Tower running is an indoor sport

6 Tower Running is only popular in the USA

VOCABULARY

2. Complete this word search using words from the A-C texts. Then try to give a definition of each word.

A C U B F M O L R T K S W I R L
F L A M B V X E W E I G H T A R
L M L R V O A U I S T H C E N K
E G X T O N R H S H F A D Z P M
X A P I S Y K T R E A R Y U I B
I E E S T R N S O A K D Q L F W
B T T B A L E L U R G F W Z S H
I H C O M P E T I T I O N M Q I
L F O X S E S W T A S N P Q T M
I R M I M A O N Y W E E T A Y R
T P N N S T W R H R O O N G Y S
Y U B G J H B A G Y W O Q X J T
E W I J H E G C I S U L E M Z O
S W S G T E T I L S I K S B Y U
Y S W H R L D O K T T W O V H A
C C L U B Y P N J U P B P Y P E

SPEAKING

3. Prepare a three-minute presentation for your partner to answer the following questions:
• Do you -or any of your friends or relatives- practise any strange sports? Tell your partners about it.
• What equipment do you need to do it?
• Does it involve any special physical requirement? Can everybody practise it?
• Is there any official championship on such a sport? How often? Where?

WRITING

4. You are interested in practising kickboxing but your parents are very sceptical about it. You have emailed Simon, a friend in Scotland who already practises it, asking for information and advice to convince your parents. Imagine and write his response.
(80-120 words)

Advice:
1. Be very careful to use the correct present/past tense to describe his experience.
2. Highlight those benefits that may be more attractive for your parents.

GRAMMAR

5. Look at the pictures and say what the people have done.
Use these verbs: break, build, catch, see, win
Use these objects: a film, a fish, a house, his leg, the gold medal

She’s won the gold medal.

1 2. 3. 4.

1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

6. James is talking about his life. Put the correct past participles in the gaps.

I’ve (……………_) (see) a lot of beautiful places in my life, and I’ve (1) …………… (do) a lot of interesting things. I’ve (2) …………… (travel) in North and South America, for example. I’ve (3) …………… (visit) all the big American cities.
I’ve (4) …………… (drive) across Mexico. I haven’t (5) …………… (be) to Argentina, but I’ve (6) …………… (work) in Peru and Bolivia. I’ve (7) …………… (swim) in the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, and the Mediterranean Sea. I’ve (8) …………… (eat) in the best restaurants in Paris, and I’ve (9) …………… (sing) Italian songs in Rome. I haven’t
(10) …………… (make) much money in my life, but I’ve (11) …………… (meet) a lot of interesting people and I’ve (12) …………… (take) a lot of wonderful photographs!
ANSWER KEY

READING
1.
1. Sarah has been hoolahooping for several years
True “everyday since she was a child”
2. Hoolahooping is only for young people
False “people of all ages”
3. John started kick boxing at a club when he was at school
False “ when he finished school”
4. Kick boxing is a dangerous sport
False “it can be dangerous”
5. Tower running is an indoor sport
True ”flights of stairs in skyscrapers”
6. Tower Running is only popular in the USA
False “competitions all over the world”

VOCABULARY
2.
A C U B F M O L R T K S W I R L
F L A M B V X E W E I G H T A R
L M L R V O A U I S T H C E N K
E G X T O N R H S H F A D Z P M
X A P I S Y K T R E A R Y U I B
I E E S T R N S O A K D Q L F W
B T T B A L E L U R G F W Z S H
I H C O M P E T I T I O N M Q I
L F O X S E S W T A S N P Q T M
I R M I M A O N Y W E E T A Y R
T P N N S T W R H R O O N G Y S
Y U B G J H B A G Y W O Q X J T
E W I J H E G C I S U L E M Z O
S W S G T E T I L S I K S B Y U
Y S W H R L D O K T T W O V H A
C C L U B Y P N J U P B P Y P E
Suggested answer.
Competition: An event in which people compete with each other to find out who is the best at something
Swirl: Move around quickly in a circle
Knee: The joint between the top and bottom parts of the leg where it bends in the middle
Gym: A room or hall with equipment for doing physical exercise, for example in a school
Boxing: A sport in which two people fight each other with their hands, while wearing very large thick gloves
Waist: The area around the middle of the body between the ribs and the hips, often narrower than the areas above and below
Heart: The organ in the chest that sends blood around the body, usually on the left in humans
Club: A group of people who meet together regularly, for a particular activity, sport, etc
Flexibility: Ability to change to suit new conditions or situations
Weight: How heavy somebody or something is, which can be measured in kilograms or pounds

SPEAKING
3.
Students’ own answers.

WRITING
4.
Students’ own answers.

GRAMMAR
5.
1 He’s/He has broken his leg.
2 They’ve/They have built a house.
3 They’ve/They have seen a film.
4 She’s/She has caught a fish.

6.
1 done 5 been 9 sung
2 travelled 6 worked 10 made
3 visited 7 swum 11 met
4 driven 8 eaten 12 taken

SPORTS AND HEALTH

READING

1. Read the texts A-C and decide if the following statements are True or False.

Text A ) Hoolahooping
Sarah is 15 years old now but she has practiced hoolahooping everyday since she was a young child. Hoolahooping basically involves swirling a plastic ring around your waist, hips and neck. It was a sport meant only for kids some years ago, but now is being used by people of all ages in gyms around the world to keep themselves fit and healthy. Even Sarah’s mother practises it to help her lose weight!

Text B ) Kick Boxing
John loves kick boxing, a mix between boxing and martial arts. John knows quite a few people who do this sport to work off their aggression, and it can be dangerous, but he doesn’t do it for that reason. He started kick boxing when he finished school to maintain flexibility and meet new friends in the gym!. You have to join an official club to practise this sport safely and there are lots of rules.

Text C ) Tower Running
Peter likes reading about Tower Running although he’s never taken part in a competition. Tower Running means running up flights of stairs in skyscrapers. There are a few Tower Running competitions held all over the world. It’s not a sport for everyone. You must be strong enough as it puts a lot of strain on the heart, the knees and other joints. These people are really fit. It’s like running a marathon, but vertically!

1 Sarah has been hoolahooping for several years

2 Hoolahooping is only for young people

3 John started kick boxing at a club when he was at school

4 Kick boxing is a dangerous sport

5 Tower running is an indoor sport

6 Tower Running is only popular in the USA

VOCABULARY

2. Complete this word search using words from the A-C texts. Then try to give a definition of each word.

A C U B F M O L R T K S W I R L
F L A M B V X E W E I G H T A R
L M L R V O A U I S T H C E N K
E G X T O N R H S H F A D Z P M
X A P I S Y K T R E A R Y U I B
I E E S T R N S O A K D Q L F W
B T T B A L E L U R G F W Z S H
I H C O M P E T I T I O N M Q I
L F O X S E S W T A S N P Q T M
I R M I M A O N Y W E E T A Y R
T P N N S T W R H R O O N G Y S
Y U B G J H B A G Y W O Q X J T
E W I J H E G C I S U L E M Z O
S W S G T E T I L S I K S B Y U
Y S W H R L D O K T T W O V H A
C C L U B Y P N J U P B P Y P E

SPEAKING

3. Prepare a three-minute presentation for your partner to answer the following questions:
• Do you -or any of your friends or relatives- practise any strange sports? Tell your partners about it.
• What equipment do you need to do it?
• Does it involve any special physical requirement? Can everybody practise it?
• Is there any official championship on such a sport? How often? Where?

WRITING

4. You are interested in practising kickboxing but your parents are very sceptical about it. You have emailed Simon, a friend in Scotland who already practises it, asking for information and advice to convince your parents. Imagine and write his response.
(80-120 words)

Advice:
1. Be very careful to use the correct present/past tense to describe his experience.
2. Highlight those benefits that may be more attractive for your parents.

GRAMMAR

5. Look at the pictures and say what the people have done.
Use these verbs: break, build, catch, see, win
Use these objects: a film, a fish, a house, his leg, the gold medal

She’s won the gold medal.

1 2. 3. 4.

1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

6. James is talking about his life. Put the correct past participles in the gaps.

I’ve (……………_) (see) a lot of beautiful places in my life, and I’ve (1) …………… (do) a lot of interesting things. I’ve (2) …………… (travel) in North and South America, for example. I’ve (3) …………… (visit) all the big American cities.
I’ve (4) …………… (drive) across Mexico. I haven’t (5) …………… (be) to Argentina, but I’ve (6) …………… (work) in Peru and Bolivia. I’ve (7) …………… (swim) in the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, and the Mediterranean Sea. I’ve (8) …………… (eat) in the best restaurants in Paris, and I’ve (9) …………… (sing) Italian songs in Rome. I haven’t
(10) …………… (make) much money in my life, but I’ve (11) …………… (meet) a lot of interesting people and I’ve (12) …………… (take) a lot of wonderful photographs!
ANSWER KEY

READING
1.
1. Sarah has been hoolahooping for several years
True “everyday since she was a child”
2. Hoolahooping is only for young people
False “people of all ages”
3. John started kick boxing at a club when he was at school
False “ when he finished school”
4. Kick boxing is a dangerous sport
False “it can be dangerous”
5. Tower running is an indoor sport
True ”flights of stairs in skyscrapers”
6. Tower Running is only popular in the USA
False “competitions all over the world”

VOCABULARY
2.
A C U B F M O L R T K S W I R L
F L A M B V X E W E I G H T A R
L M L R V O A U I S T H C E N K
E G X T O N R H S H F A D Z P M
X A P I S Y K T R E A R Y U I B
I E E S T R N S O A K D Q L F W
B T T B A L E L U R G F W Z S H
I H C O M P E T I T I O N M Q I
L F O X S E S W T A S N P Q T M
I R M I M A O N Y W E E T A Y R
T P N N S T W R H R O O N G Y S
Y U B G J H B A G Y W O Q X J T
E W I J H E G C I S U L E M Z O
S W S G T E T I L S I K S B Y U
Y S W H R L D O K T T W O V H A
C C L U B Y P N J U P B P Y P E
Suggested answer.
Competition: An event in which people compete with each other to find out who is the best at something
Swirl: Move around quickly in a circle
Knee: The joint between the top and bottom parts of the leg where it bends in the middle
Gym: A room or hall with equipment for doing physical exercise, for example in a school
Boxing: A sport in which two people fight each other with their hands, while wearing very large thick gloves
Waist: The area around the middle of the body between the ribs and the hips, often narrower than the areas above and below
Heart: The organ in the chest that sends blood around the body, usually on the left in humans
Club: A group of people who meet together regularly, for a particular activity, sport, etc
Flexibility: Ability to change to suit new conditions or situations
Weight: How heavy somebody or something is, which can be measured in kilograms or pounds

SPEAKING
3.
Students’ own answers.

WRITING
4.
Students’ own answers.

GRAMMAR
5.
1 He’s/He has broken his leg.
2 They’ve/They have built a house.
3 They’ve/They have seen a film.
4 She’s/She has caught a fish.

6.
1 done 5 been 9 sung
2 travelled 6 worked 10 made
3 visited 7 swum 11 met
4 driven 8 eaten 12 taken

Leave a Reply

